Personal Post- Difficult Decisions

biscuit

Dear Reader,

Today I wanted to write a more personal post, specifically about difficult decisions. I have recently made a pretty difficult decision, and wanted to attempt to put all of my emotions into a blog post (disclaimer: this is being written very late at night -technically very early morning, running solely on emotions and three cups of coffee).

Difficult decisions. Being human, one inevitably has to make a hard decision sometime in their life. Within a person’s lifetime, it is virtually impossible to avoid a sticky situation in which one encounters a difficult choice to be made. Of course, people make little decisions every second of the day; stay up late ranting on a blog vs getting a good night’s rest, eating an apple vs a whole bag of wasabi rice crackers from Trader Joes (aka my weakness), picking out a cute outfit vs picking out a comfy but not so stylish outfit (you get the point).

Even writing this blog post is a decision, I am making the choice to make my blog not a professional fashion blog, but a real blog that is a reflection of who I am, and what my thoughts are. In other words, I have decided to make this blog more relative to my personality vs strictly a fashion blog. For the majority of my life, I have been trying to please other people: catering my Instagram posts to what other people like (so that I get more “likes”), doing tons of extra curricular activities for college, dressing to fit in with the crowd. I have been using things that are supposed to be a reflection as me (social media, outfits, interests etc) to cater to what the masses want, and by doing so, I have not been able to focus on myself or my needs. This may sound selfish to some, but I think everybody needs to be able to take a step back from their lives, and wonder if they are happy with the life they are living. Back to the point, I somehow got the reason in my head that people will only read this blog if it was strictly about fashion. Once again, I was just trying to please other people, and not myself. Basically, I have come to the realization that this blog is a creative output for myself, and I am going to put content on this blog that is a reflection of me.

The second difficult decision I recently made was quitting water polo. Because this blog post is so long, I am not going to get into the details, but basically I was not happy playing water polo. Water polo was consuming my life, making me a zombie, and I realized that although I enjoyed the games, the 6 days a week of 3 hour practices was making me crazy. I had bit off more than I could chew, and I was just sticking with water polo because I had convinced myself that colleges only accepted well-rounded athletes (I realize now that I am completely wrong). Quitting water polo was something that needed to be done for my physical and mental health. It is hard to explain over the computer without sounding selfish, but I needed to make myself happy for once, and water polo was consuming my life with sleepiness and stress.

All in all, my point is that sometimes difficult decisions need to be made in order to keep oneself happy and healthy. Make sure that your life is a reflection of yourself, and not a reflection of what people around will think is “cool.”

Sorry for the many typos, super late at night! I have to do a “teen issue” speech in English, and I am thinking about doing this “reflection of me” thing as a potential topic. I will probably share that speech on this blog(: Also, stay tuned for a mix of fashion, health, and personal posts! Oh and I made an Instagram: @playing.dress.up (if you follow me and comment your instagram down below, I will follow you back)

Thanks for reading my late night rants(: -BarbaraMari

Disclaimer:  The picture of Biscuit (the cute lil kitty) is my own, but I edited the picture using pic monkey.

6 thoughts on “Personal Post- Difficult Decisions

  1. Valerie Nguyen says:

    Hello Barbara! Thanks for visiting my blog and following me. I’ve followed you back as well. As we grow up, we realize we’ll have to face more and more tough decisions. I think it’s a good idea to broaden your blog and make it however you want it to be. Because you’re right, your blog is a reflection of exactly who you are. And I hope that you’re happy about quitting water polo. I know some polo players who are VERY dedicated to their sport. This comment is getting long but I hope to get to know you better! xx

    Like

  2. Sudi R. says:

    I love this! I can totally relate. Social media and just anything that has any form of influence on us seems to consume us. I look forward to reading more of your post and seeing your blog grow!

    -xo S.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment